A page inside a manuscript of Al-Baghawi’s tafsir (exegesis) of the Noble Qur’an at the Kuwaiti Ministry of Awqaf’s library.

It includes a work of poetry by Saleh Bin Saif Al-Ateeqi, which is preceded by the following words:

Allah’s humble servant, Sheikh Saleh Bin Saif Al-Ateeqi, naming the twenty-eight phases of the moon in a poem:

The poem is then presented as follows (in Arabic) and lists the various names of the phases (see list below):*

شَرطنا بُطيناً للثريا بدبرهم
و هقعةُ هنع و الذراع و ناثرُ

و طرفتهم معْ جبهةٍ ثم زبرةٍ
و صرفةُ عوَا و السماكُ و غافر

زبانا و إكليلٌ و قلبٌ و شولةٌ
نعائم بلدٌ ذابحٌ و هو سائرُ

كذا بلعٌ سعد السعود خبائهم
و قدم و أخر للرشا فهو آخرُ




  • The stamp of Sheikh Saleh Bin Saif (upside-down).


This document shows that it was Sheikh Saleh Bin Saif Al-Ateeqi who composed the poem Manazil Al-Qamar, naming all twenty-eight phases of the moon.

*Traditionally, these phases have been named and defined as follows: 

1. Al-Sharatain (The Two Signs)

2. Al-Butain (The Belly)

3. Al-Thurayya (The Swarm)

4. Al-Dabaran (The Follower)

5. Al-Haqa (A White Spot)

6. Al-Hana (The Scar)

7. Al-Dhira (The Seed or The Branch)

8. Al-Nathrah (The Nursery)

9. Al-Tarf (The Gaze)

10. Al-Jabhah (The Forehead)

11. Al-Zubrah (The Mane of the Lion)

12. Al-Sarfah (The Changer of the Weather)

13. Al-Awwa (The Barker)

14. Al-Simak (The Unarmed)

15. Al-Ghafr (The Lid)

16. Al-Zubana (The Claws)

17. Al-Iklil (The Dome of the Head)

18. Al-Qalb (The Heart)

19. Al-Shaulah (The Sting)

20. Al-Na’am (The Dragon’s Head)

21. Al-Baldah (The City or District)

22. Sa’d al-Dhabih (The Fortunate Assassin)

23. Sa’d Bula (The Fortunate Aviator)

24. Sa’d al-Su’ud (The Wretched of the Wretched)

25. Sa’d al-Akhbiyah (The Star of the Dungeons)

26. Al Fargh al-Awwal (The Upper Hole of the Flask)

27. Al Fargh al-Thani (The Lower Hole of the Flask)

28. Batn al-Hut (The Belly of the Fish)